What is CSS exam?

What is CSS exam?

CSS stands for ‘Central Superior Service’. It is a competitive exam in which students from all over the Pakistan appear to show their intellectual skills. The successful candidates in the CSS are positioned on the 17th scale for the civil service in the different Government offices.

CSS is considered as a difficult exam to qualify.  Why is CSS exam difficult to qualify? There are a number of possible reasons, why people fail in the CSS exam.

  • First, the qualification criterion. If a student fails in any subject he will be considered as totally fail.
  • Most of the students fail because they do not equally distribute their efforts to all Subjects of CSS. Essay writing is considered as the most difficult subject. However. most of the students fail in the Islamic Study.
  • Optional subjects in the CSS create a dilemma for most of the aspirants.

Occupations of CSS Groups: (What job can we get after CSS EXAMINATION?)

There are total 12 service departments and after clearing CSS exam a candidate can be sent to any department based on the preferences and final merit. All these departments come under Federal Government. After passing the CSS exam, and after successfully passing from different stages, a candidate can be allocated in any of the following civil service departments. (What job can we get after CSS EXAMINATION?)

Occupations of CSS Groups:

  1. Commerce &Trade Group
  2. Foreign Service of Pakistan
  3. Information Group
  4. Inland Revenue Service
  5. Military Lands & Cantonments Group
  6. Office Management Group
  7. Pakistan Administrative Service
  8. Pakistan Audit and Accounts Service
  9. Pakistan Customs Service
  10. Police Service of Pakistan
  11. Postal Group
  12. Railways (Commercial &Transportation) Group.

CSS examination shall be comprised of following stages (As per FPSC rules 2017).

  1. Written test.
  2. Medical test.
  3. Psychological Assessment.
  4. Viva voice.

Places of CSS examination:

The examination will be held simultaneously at Abbottabad, Bahawalpur, Dera Ghazi Khan, D.I.Khan, Faisalabad, Gilgit, Gujranwala, Hyderabad, Islamabad, Karachi, Lahore, Larkana, Multan, Muzaffarabad, Peshawar, Quetta, Rawalpindi, Sargodha, & Sukkur depending on the number of applicants for each center.

Age limit for CSS (Who is eligible for the CSS exam?)

What is Age limit for the CSS examination?

A candidate for admission to the examination must have attained the age of 21 years and not over 30 years on 31st December, 2017 (a candidate born on or before 31st December 1986 and on or after 2nd January 1997 will not be eligible), except the candidate falling in the categories mentioned in Rule-3(ii) where any candidate born on or before 31st December 1984 and born on or after 2nd January, 1996 will not be eligible.

Who is eligible for the CSS examination?


Brief History of CSS:

The Public Service Commission was set up for the first time in British India in 1926. After independence, the Commission was established in Pakistan in 1947 under the provision of Government of India Act, 1935. At present, the commission is functioning under article 242 of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan. It has been provided autonomy under the Rules of Business, 1973 and FPSC Regulations, 1978 in its working. The Commission has also been given administrative as well as, to some extent, financial autonomy to perform its functions independently.



Explore more with WorldOfStudents.com


► How to apply for the CSS?

► Subject in the CSS?  Or List of optional and compulsory subjects in the CSS.

► Interviews of CSS toppers.


What is CSS